• Cars
    +5K
  • About
  • Blog
EN
Add car
  1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. News
  4. 2027 Toyota Crown Gets a New Hybrid System but Is Slightly Less Efficient
News

2027 Toyota Crown Gets a New Hybrid System but Is Slightly Less Efficient

Konstantin Lupandin
Konstantin Lupandin
July 25, 20263 min readViews: 577
Add as preferred source
  1. What Changed in the Toyota Crown Hybrid System
  2. How Much Did the Published Fuel Economy Change?
  3. Hybrid MAX Remains Exclusive to the Platinum
  4. How the Prices and Trim Levels Changed
  5. The Exterior Update Is Focused and Limited
  6. What Remains Unchanged
  7. The Key Question About the 2027 Toyota Crown

Contents

  1. What Changed in the Toyota Crown Hybrid System
  2. How Much Did the Published Fuel Economy Change?
  3. Hybrid MAX Remains Exclusive to the Platinum
  4. How the Prices and Trim Levels Changed
  5. The Exterior Update Is Focused and Limited
  6. What Remains Unchanged
  7. The Key Question About the 2027 Toyota Crown
2027 Toyota Crown Gets a New Hybrid System but Is Slightly Less Efficient

Frequently asked questions

The XLE, Limited, and Nightshade trims receive Toyota’s fifth-generation THS 5 system. The Platinum retains the more powerful Hybrid MAX system.

The XLE, Limited, and Nightshade are rated at 40 mpg combined for 2027, compared with 41 mpg for the 2026 model—approximately 5.9 versus 5.7 L/100 km. This is a published rating, and the article says it does not establish that the 2027 model will use more fuel in identical real-world conditions.

Toyota has not disclosed the THS 5 system’s total output, battery capacity, or the 2027 Crown’s acceleration time. The article also says independent tests are needed for a fuller assessment.

On July 23, 2026, Toyota unveiled the updated Crown for the North American market. The XLE, Limited, and Nightshade versions received the fifth-generation THS 5 hybrid system, while the Platinum trim retained the more powerful Hybrid MAX setup. At the same time, the official combined fuel-economy rating for the base hybrid changed from 41 to 40 mpg.

The difference is small: converted to more familiar units, it is approximately 5.7 versus 5.9 L/100 km. Still, the change is unusual because the new-generation hybrid system did not improve the published fuel-economy figure. Here is what actually changed and what Toyota has not yet disclosed.

What Changed in the Toyota Crown Hybrid System

According to Toyota's official announcement dated July 23, 2026, the Crown XLE, Limited, and Nightshade are now equipped with the THS 5 system. It combines a 2.5-liter gasoline engine, two motor-generators, a continuously variable transmission, and a separate rear electric motor for the Electronic On-Demand AWD system.

The electronically controlled braking system combines regenerative braking with conventional hydraulic braking. During deceleration, some of the vehicle's kinetic energy is returned to the traction battery. The same basic principle was used before, so the main change is not the overall layout but the move to a new generation of components and calibration.

Toyota has not yet disclosed the THS 5 system's total output, battery capacity, or the 2027 Crown's acceleration time. The official release does not show whether the vehicle is quicker than the previous 236-horsepower version. Toyota only says that the system has a more responsive character. The paddle shifters added to all three trims are also intended to support that feel.

How Much Did the Published Fuel Economy Change?

The 2026 Toyota Crown with the previous hybrid system was rated at 41 mpg combined. That figure appears in the official specifications for the 2026 model. For the 2027 Crown with THS 5, Toyota lists a 40 mpg rating.

Version

Powertrain

Combined fuel economy

Approx. L/100 km

2026 Crown XLE, Limited, and Nightshade

2.5 L, Toyota Hybrid System

41 mpg

5.7 L/100 km

2027 Crown XLE, Limited, and Nightshade

2.5 L, THS 5

40 mpg

5.9 L/100 km

2027 Crown Platinum

2.4 L Turbo Hybrid MAX

Not yet listed for 2027

Not disclosed

A 1 mpg decrease equals a difference of approximately 2.4%. In real-world driving, weather, speed, terrain, tire pressure, and acceleration habits can have a greater effect on fuel consumption. In addition, this is a preliminary EPA estimate cited by the manufacturer, not a comparative road test of two vehicles.

The phrase “less efficient” applies only to the published combined rating. Without independent measurements, it is not possible to claim that the 2027 Crown will necessarily use more fuel under identical real-world conditions.

Hybrid MAX Remains Exclusive to the Platinum

The range-topping Platinum trim has not switched to THS 5. It retains the Hybrid MAX system with a 2.4-liter turbocharged engine, front and rear electric motors, and a six-speed automatic transmission.

The system produces 340 hp and 400 lb-ft, or approximately 542 Nm. Full-Time Electronic AWD continuously redistributes torque between the axles. The Platinum also includes adaptive suspension, dynamic rear-wheel steering, 21-inch wheels, and a 10-inch head-up display.

Toyota did not provide the 2027 Crown's Hybrid MAX fuel-economy rating in the July release. The 2026 model had an official combined rating of 30 mpg, but that figure cannot automatically be carried over to the new model year.

How the Prices and Trim Levels Changed

All four versions continue to feature all-wheel drive. Toyota published base prices excluding the mandatory $1,295 processing and delivery fee.

Trim

2026 price

2027 price

Change

XLE

$41,440

$41,640

+$200

Limited

$45,950

$49,720

+$3,770

Nightshade

$48,765

$48,965

+$200

Platinum

$54,990

$55,190

+$200

The Crown Limited received the most substantial price increase. Along with the higher price, it gained a panoramic-view camera system, Traffic Jam Assist and Digital Key support, lane-change assistance, front cross-traffic alert, multi-beam LED headlights, and an 11-speaker JBL audio system. Some connected features require an active Toyota service trial or subscription and access to a mobile network.

The Limited now costs more than the Nightshade, even though the Nightshade is positioned above the XLE and focuses on styling. The choice between them essentially comes down to priorities: more advanced electronic driver-assistance features in the Limited, or the Nightshade's blacked-out design and 21-inch matte-black wheels.

The Exterior Update Is Focused and Limited

The Crown retains its raised sedan body, hammerhead-style front end, and familiar proportions. The main changes are at the rear: there is a different bumper, and on two-tone vehicles the trunk lid is now painted in the body color while the roof remains black.

Inked black has been added to the color palette. The Hybrid Electric Vehicle and AWD badges now have a satin finish. The Platinum comes standard with red brake calipers and black window trim, while the Nightshade receives additional black emblem overlays.

What Remains Unchanged

All trims retain the digital instrument cluster and 12.3-inch central display, wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, heated front and rear seats, ventilated front seats, and Qi wireless charging.

Toyota Safety Sense 3.0 remains standard equipment. It includes a pre-collision system with pedestrian detection, adaptive cruise control, lane control, road-sign recognition, and automatic high beams. These features assist the driver but do not make the Crown a self-driving vehicle.

Production will continue at the Tsutsumi plant in Japan. Hybrid components in the United States are covered for eight years or 100,000 miles, while the traction battery is covered for ten years or 150,000 miles. Toyota did not announce the 2027 Crown's arrival date at regular retail dealerships in its July 23 release.

The Key Question About the 2027 Toyota Crown

The update goes beyond a new bumper: the mainstream versions receive THS 5 and paddle shifters, while the Limited gets a noticeably richer equipment list. At the same time, the official combined fuel-economy rating falls from 41 to 40 mpg.

The new hybrid cannot be fully assessed until Toyota publishes its output and battery specifications and independent tests become available. For now, the 2027 Crown looks less like a more efficient version of the previous model and more like an attempt to make the base powertrain more responsive while keeping fuel consumption near 5.9 L/100 km.

Popular Toyota models

Corolla233C-HR135Yaris103RAV 498ProAce55Aygo X38Camry30Yaris Cross29Avensis28Auris25Aygo15Hilux15ProAce City10Highlander8Land Cruiser8Verso8Prius7Mirai4Corolla Cross4Tundra3Corolla Verso2bZ4X2Previa1Sequoia1
ToyotaListings: 871

Find your next car today

Explore hundreds of listings from verified dealers and private sellers. Smart filters, detailed car pages, and real-time updates — everything you need to make the right choice.

  • CorollaListings: 233
  • C-HRListings: 135
  • YarisListings: 103
  • RAV 4Listings: 98
See Toyota cars

Other articles

Toyota Sequoia 2027: Trailhunter and Towing AssistNews

Toyota Sequoia 2027: What Trailhunter and the New Towing Assistants Offer

November 6, 2026
Mercedes-Benz glass displays: what drivers and passengers could seeNews

Mercedes-Benz turns car windows into displays: what drivers and passengers could see

November 5, 2026
Ford Bronco Frostwarden: Megazilla 2.0 V8 and 1,200+ hpNews

Ford Bronco Frostwarden: Why an Off-Roader Needs More Than 1,200 hp

November 4, 2026
Karma Eximius 1: Why a Track Hybrid Uses a 6.2-Liter V8News

Karma Eximius 1: Why a Track Hybrid Uses a 6.2-Liter V8

November 3, 2026
BMW completes urban assistance testsNews

BMW completes urban driver assistance tests ahead of planned 2027 launch

November 2, 2026
New Mitsubishi Pajero: specs and 5,500 pre-ordersNews

New Mitsubishi Pajero: what changed and why 5,500 orders are not sales

November 1, 2026
2027 Nissan Rogue Hybrid: e-POWER explainedNews

Nissan Rogue Hybrid: why a petrol crossover uses electric drive without a plug

October 31, 2026
ADAC test: why automatic braking can miss pedestriansNews

Why automatic braking may miss a pedestrian in reflective clothing: ADAC test

October 29, 2026
Mazda CX-5 with Gemini: features and update termsNews

Mazda CX-5 gets Gemini: what the voice assistant can do and who can update

October 29, 2026
Range Rover GT: new range and suspension detailsNews

Range Rover GT: why the SUV brand is building a low electric grand tourer

October 29, 2026

Every car listing, in one place.

[email protected]
Get it on Google PlayDownload on the App Store
Platform
  • Cars
  • About us
  • Blog
  • Contacts
Legal
  • Terms of Use
  • Privacy Policy
  • Info for dealers
Live now
  • 48.101 Active cars
  • 4.694 Added today
  • 8.070 Sold in 24 h
  • 7.915 Visits per month
  • 51 Visits in 24 h
© 2026 zvelta
EN
EN